This page describes how Nylas handles deleted calendar events, and how deleted events are synced with end users' calendar providers.
If you delete an event using the Nylas API, it's marked as canceled. When Nylas syncs the event status back to the provider, the event is deleted. You can still fetch the event while Nylas is running a syncback action.
If syncback fails, Nylas rolls back the delete command and the event still appears as confirmed both in the API and on the provider.
If an event is deleted from the provider, the event status changes to canceled. Canceled events are still available from the provider's trash or deleted items folder, and the Nylas API can still fetch them.
Microsoft keeps canceled events for 14 days by default, although your Microsoft admin can increase this retention period to 30 days. Nylas removes the event after it passes the retention period.
Google keeps canceled events for 30 days. Once an event passes 30 days, it is deleted from the Google event database, and Nylas removes the event as well.
See the following links for more information about deleting events on the provider:
- Microsoft's official Soft-deleted and hard-deleted items documentation.
- Google's official Delete an event documentation.
💡 Keep in mind: The
event.updated webhook triggers when an event is deleted from the provider. The Nylas database updates the event in response to these webhooks.
If you delete an event using the Nylas Scheduler, its status changes to
canceled. When Nylas syncs the event status back to the provider, the event is deleted from the provider. The event can still be fetched while Nylas runs the syncback action.
If syncback fails, Nylas rolls back the delete command and the event still appears as confirmed both in the Nylas API and on the provider.
Deleting an event from Exchange Active Server (EAS) changes the event status to canceled. The event is deleted on the provider side only.
📝 Note: EAS doesn’t use the syncback service, and cannot provide
deleted_at values for deleted events.